The synchronization depends on the number and size of the files to synchronize. Also the speed of your Internet connection and the load of the SWITCHdrive-Servers are factors that can slow down synchronization.

Such an error message indicates that you are probably using an out of date desktop client for SWITCHdrive. Please go to the SWITCHdrive web page https://help.switch.ch/drive/downloads/ and install the latest desktop client.

By some rare occasion you may get to see the following message:

RestoreMsg

SWITCHdrive detected, that the some of your local files have a wrong timestamp, which could be caused by a user who has restored a local folder or by a restore operation inside a SWITCHdrive data center. No need to worry, you still have your most recent version of the files stored locally on your computer!

However, if SWITCHdrive would continue normally, some of your files would be replaced by an older version, which would be wrong in nearly all cases. That is why we recommend to click on the default option "Keep Local Files as Confict".

Please make sure that you have the latest SWITCHdrive client installed! If not, download and install it. Then try again.

Confirm that you are connected with the Internet and that you are logged in with the right username and password.

Quit the SWITCHdrive client by right-clicking the small cloud-logo in the task- or status-bar and choose 'Quit SWITCHdrive'. Then start it again.

Please have some patience - sometimes it just takes some time until the synchronization process starts.

Maybe you have just disabled the synchronisatoion of large folders? Check this settings of the SWITCHdrive client in the general tab of your SWITCHdrive client. Adjust the folder size or uncheck this settings if it is ok for you to sync also large folders.

MaxFolderSize

Make sure that the the name of the folder you synchronise with SWITCHdrive is exactly spelled the same way as in the SWITCHdrive settings. Capitalisation is crucial: SWITCHdrive is not the same as switchdrive.

If your switchdrive folder is spelled differently, please rename the folder to match the naming in the SWITCHdrive settings. After that quit your SWITCHdrive client and restart it again.

If you've deleted a file you can retrieve it through the webclient of SWITCHdrive. Click "Deleted files" in the lower left corner (1). Select the files or folders you would like to restore and press "Restore" (2). If you want to permanently delete the files or folders click on the trash bin (3).

HowToRestore

All files and folders you delete are saved for a certain amount of time, so you are able to restore them if required. If you would like to permanently delete a file or folder, go to the webclient of SWITCHdrive. Click on the "Deleted files" in the lower left corner. Select the file or folder you would like to permanently remove and click on the trash bin icon. Please note: permanently deleted files or folder cannot be restored, so be very cautious when you decide to permanently delete a file or folder.

This might come in handy if you have folders with a lot of (large) files, such as "Movies" or "Backup". You might not want to sync these files to every computer you have. To prevent SWITCHdrive from doing this, go to your SWITCHdrive settings (right-click on the SWICHdrive symbol ) and select "Settings" from the pop up menu.

In the main-tab on the left  you can uncheck the folders that should not be synced to your computer.  The files are NOT deleted, they are just not synchronized to your computer.

On Android devices you click on a file and check the box 'Keep file up to date'.

On iOS devices you have to tap on the ­ to keep it synchronized.

You can prevent SWITCHdrive to use mobile data. This is useful if you are on a data plan that does not allow unlimited data tranfer.

On Android devices go to Settings->Data usage and then choose SWITCHdrive and check 'Restrict background data'

On iOS devices got to Settings->Cellular and scroll down to SWITCHdrive and swipe the slider off. If SWITCHdrive is missing in that list, you have to use SWITCHdrive first while on a mobile data network. As soon as some data has been transfered over a mobile data network, SWITCHdrive will be shown on that list.

 

Conflict files are created when SWITCHdrive is unable to detect which file contains the most recent changes, the file that is stored on the SWITCHdrive server or the file that is stored locally on your harddisk. You need to solve such a timing conflict yourself, because SWITCHdrive is unable to do this for you.

In order to solve this conflict situation click on the yellow-green button in the SWITCHdrive setting and locate the conflict file in your switchdrive folder.

ScrShot2722

Simply checking the last modification date of the files would not be correct. You need to open both files side by side and scroll down to detect the differences between the two files. Usually it is pretty easy to spot the differences and decide which file is the correct one. When in doubt, rename the conflict file and replace "_conflict-" by "old" or "new", so you can always go back to the two file versions.

ScrShot2723

Note that conflict files have the same name as the original file, but have a "_conflict-" attached to the file name and two numbers indicating the date and time when the conflict was detected.

Conflict files also have a yellow green icon with a small exclamation mark inside and are always stored locally inside the switchdrive folder. They are never synchronised to other clients or to the SWITCHdrive servers as the file conflict is only a local problem in your switchdrive folder. The conflict message will only disappear when you delete or rename the conflict file.